BTI420 Class Notes – Winter 2016

The table below has links to the daily course notes for the Winter 2016 term. New notes are at the top.

.

Week number
and date
Topic theme and coverage Graded
work
Mark
value
Week 13
Wed Apr 13
No new topics today – optional attendance
Professors will be available in-class to help you with Assignment 9
This is the last class/session of the term
Week 12
Fri Apr 8 or
Mon Apr 11
Continue work on Assignment 9
Week 12
Wed Apr 6
Bulk data loading, and initial data Test 11 5%
Week 11
Fri Apr 1 or
Mon Apr 4
Cascading dropdown lists; web services introduction
Get started on Assignment 9
Assign 9 10%
Week 11
Wed Mar 30
Partial views
Using JavaScript and Ajax to enhance user interaction
Brief introduction to creating a web service endpoint
Test 10 3%
Week 10
Fri Mar 25 or
Mon Mar 28
Fri Mar 25 – Good Friday stat holiday, College is closed, no classes
No class on Mon Mar 28 for section A either
Week 10
Wed Mar 23
Handling non-text media types in web apps – capture, storage, delivery Test 9 5%
Week 9
Fri Mar 18 or
Mon Mar 21
Graceful error-handling, rich-text editing
Get started on Assignment 8
Assign 8 10%
Week 9
Wed Mar 16
Security scenarios, design and coding tactics
Gracefully handling HTTP 404 and other exceptions
Test 8 3%
Week 8
Fri Mar 11 or
Mon Mar 14
Hands-on with Azure
Continue working on Assignment 7
Assign 7 8%
Week 8
Wed Mar 9
New persistent data store creation
Microsoft Azure services introduction
Get started on Assignment 7
Test 7 5%
Study week No classes – enjoy your study week
Week 7
Fri Feb 26 or
Mon Mar 7
Section A and B (McIntyre) – no class session
Week 7
Wed Feb 24
Security topics introduction Test 6 5%
Week 6
Fri Feb 19 or
Mon Feb 22
Continue working with associated data
Hands-on Assignment 6
Assign 6 4%
Week 6
Wed Feb 17
More HTML Form building for associated data scenarios Test 5 5%
Week 5
Fri Feb 12 or
Mon Feb 15
Continue working with associated data
Hands-on Assignment 5
Assign 5 4%
Week 5
Wed Feb 10
HTML Form building for associated data scenarios
Bootstrap introduction
Test 4 3%
Week 4
Fri Feb 5 or
Mon Feb 8
Continue working with associated data
Introduction to debugging
Hands-on Assignment 4
Assign 4 4%
Week 4
Wed Feb 3
Associations among entities Test 3 5%
Week 3
Fri Jan 29 or
Mon Feb 1
Patterns wrap-up and summary
More about LINQ; selecting, filtering, sorting
Hands-on Assignment 3
Assign 3 4%
Week 3
Wed Jan 27
Handling the “edit existing” and “delete item” patterns
Introduction to data annotations, and LINQ
Test 2 5%
Week 2
Fri Jan 22 or
Mon Jan 25
Handling the “add new” pattern
Hands-on Assignment 2
Assign 2 4%
Week 2
Wed Jan 20
Data persistence introduction
System design guidance – data store, data manager, view models, and use cases
Test 1 3%
Week 1
Fri Jan 15 or
Mon Jan 18
Lifecycle of a request in ASP.NET MVC; hands-on Assignment 1
Creating objects and collections; hands-on data delivery
HTML Forms and controllers; hands-on data gathering
Assign 1 3%
Week 1
Wed Jan 13
Introduction to the course’s topics
Getting started – dev tools, ASP.NET MVC, C#, writing classes
Welcome Welcome to BTI420 information

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: